Clean Eating Fudgesicles (the solution to everything wrong in the world!)

photo (22)
One of the main things I am focusing on this summer, is enjoying my kids. It seems simple. If you’ve read some of my posts before, you know I always wanted to be a stay-at-home mom but lately – like the past 2 years- motherhood has been more frustration than joy. 

I’m not saying we don’t have fun, or that I don’t enjoy my kids, but if you have children between the ages of 18 months and 5 years, you have probably rolled your eyes at one time or another when someone reminds you to “just enjoy them.” And then you feel a little guilty because, you want to enjoy them, you love more than anything, but they drive you CRAZY!

I have been praying and praying for patience. I want to be patient but the little things like my daughter’s selective deafness when I am talking to her, both of they having squirrel syndrome (A.K.A easily distracted), and the fact that it takes 45 minutes to get out the door; can drive a mom bonkers when we are at home all day taking care of kids.

Some of the things that drive us crazy can actually be cute. Like when I go to the grocery store with my two girls (ages 3 and 5) and they are singing in the grocery cart. The same song; over, and over, and over. People love to stop me and tell me how cute and sweet they are. Especially because it is not possible to walk by anyone without both of my daughters saying, “HI!” as loud as possible. (And if the person doesn’t respond they just keep saying it.)

When I get the comments about them being adorable as they sing in the grocery cart, I smile and agree but I am secretly wishing for just a few minutes of silence. Don’t get me wrong, I am happy they are singing and not whacking each other in the head with a box of cereal, but still..

So this summer I am focusing on enjoying them before they go off to school for the first time (which I am really looking forward to if you hadn’t guessed.)

I am making myself sound like an awful mother, but I know I am not. I just need a break sometimes. We all need a break sometimes. It just kills me when I am in the process of getting a break (like when I went to a writer’s conference back in April) and I tell someone how nice it is to get away for a few days and they try to convince me to enjoy my kids!

So as far as the blog goes, I will be talking about, simplifying life – especially putting down parental distractions like social media, and healthy ways to have fun with kids this summer. One thing I love to do with my girls is cook with them. 
photo (20)

photo (19)

They love helping me cook. And my oldest has actually gotten to the point of actually being helpful.

I try to cook and eat clean, with non-processed foods and no refined sugar. It is fantastic when I find something that can seem like a delicious treat for them but is actually healthy. And this is a great treat for adults too. I mean seriously, you have to try these, they are so good!

CLEAN EATING FUDGESICLES

1/2 cup unsweetened chocolate

1 cup coconut milk (the kind in a can, don’t use “light” or you won’t get the good fat from the coconut)

3 very ripe (brown or even black) bananas

pinch salt

2 tablespoons agave syrup

2 teaspoons vanilla

1. Place chocolate, coconut, and banana in bowl. Mix with an immersion blender ( you can probably use a regular blended but I love my immersion blender for recipes like this.)

photo (18)

2. Add remaining ingredients and mix well

3. Pour mixture into Dixie cups and put in freezer.

photo (17)

photo (21)

4. Set timer for 30 minutes, add popsicle sticks or plastic spoons after 30 minutes.

5. Allow to freeze 6-8 hours.

Can be eaten as a popsicle or like a mini ice cream cup.

 

photo (23)

adapted from chocolatecoveredkatie.com http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2011/08/11/creamy-chocolate-fudgsicles/

8 responses to “Clean Eating Fudgesicles (the solution to everything wrong in the world!)

  1. these look fantastic! i hear you about the joy/frustration of being a mom 🙂

    do you have a substitute using stevia for the agave syrup? i only have stevia extract on hand…

    thanks!

Leave a Reply

